The Relationship You See Online Isn’t Real…

That’s right, there, I said it, the relationship you see online, isn’t completely true…

Of course, I would only post the good moments for everyone to see. Obviously, I would only want the world to see our most happiest moments online, why would I post anything else?
Why would I want you to see the most intimate details of our life?

M&M-13
Not every day for us is a great one. Some days are harder than others. Some days we fight more than we laugh, but why would I want the world to know that? If I post all the good things, you’ll say I’m over sharing, or our relationship doesn’t belong out there, but if I were to post when we fight, or when I’ve been crying for hours, you would say not to air your grievances online, or maybe we shouldn’t stay together. That’s the thing about social media, you’re damned if you do, and damned if you don’t. I don’t do this for the nay-sayers or the Debbie downers secretly routing for us to fail, I do this for those who need that promise of hope, that these things last.

The things you don’t get to see are the fights where we feel like there’s no returning, only to be followed by a few tears, a lot of apologizing, and even more figuring out how to fix things and become stronger. You don’t get to see when I’m having a mental breakdown when life gets hard, but Mike does, and he always finds a way to make it better. You won’t know when Mike’s had a rough day and the world seems to crumble down upon him, but I do, and I do everything possible to fix it. You don’t hear the endless laughter after a good day, or the smile on my face when he does something just because or when I play a prank on him. You don’t get to hear us right before bed when we talk about everything and anything, or the peak and the pit of our day. These are the most important moments, that can’t be shared or recreated.

3

Some nights, I don’t cook. We order Chinese, or we have grilled cheese and soup. I can’t be an amazing cook¬†all the time. Other times, our house will look a mess for days on end because life gets in the way. The dishes pile up, the laundry pile growls, and the trash even starts to smell. We are far from perfect but, some days are worse than others.

We are human, we of course wouldn’t want the world to see our flaws. Even though I should share them because we worked so damn hard to get where we are today. If you weren’t there, we have hit some rough times, some that we even though we wouldn’t get back together or be able to fix them. Every day we learn something new about each other. Life has thrown some of the ugliest moments at us, some we have to face alone, others together, but we always seem to come out stronger. We have been through break ups and make ups, hard times and easy times, life and death, but it always seems to work for us. God tests us only to make us stronger, and for that I am thankful. You wouldn’t know that though, so of course I would never put those moments out there. I’m sorry if I only share the good moments, but we wouldn’t want to share the worst days or even the best days, so we don’t. But for those who do enjoy our moments we like to share, just know that not every relationship is happiness, but there is hope to last if you make things work.

Miranda

One thought on “The Relationship You See Online Isn’t Real…

Questions? Comments? Concerns? All welcome!

