Guest Blogger: Why Having an Engaged Sister is the Best

I’ve been working a lot and I haven’t had a lot of time to keep up with my blog! I’m so sorry! This week I had my sister guest write so enjoy!

Having a sibling is one of the coolest things in this entire world. If you have multiple siblings, it’s probably even cooler. You’ll always have someone to vent to. You’ll always have someone to help you persuade your parents.  And you’ll always have someone to bug. (We’re all guilty of that, don’t deny it.)

I consider myself pretty lucky because in my nineteen years of existence, I have never experienced a time without a sibling. Not just any sibling – MY sister. I’ve always had her to lean on, buy me food, bug to death, whatever I said up there. Until now, which is the only exception, because we are currently separated by 1,000 miles of distance. However, that doesn’t stop us from being close or anything of those sorts.

If you didn’t get the memo by now, this isn’t Miranda writing something about relationships. Hi! It’s her younger and much funnier sister, Nicole, gushing about my sister’s engagement and why I love it.

If having a sister in this crazy life wasn’t the best thing that’s happened to me, having an engaged sister definitely is. I could probably go on for days about why I love going through this experience with her, but I will narrow it down to just three things.

1. The excitement of engagement (duh.)

Screen Shot 2015-06-17 at 7.37.42 PM

There’s just something about pretty rings, “we’re engaged” and new chapters ahead. It’s a mix of exciting, nerve-wrecking, and joy. I’m sure there’s a word for it, but I’m leaving it at “unexplainable.”

I still remember when Miranda got engaged two summers ago. I actually found via text which I will still never forgive or forget… but I was so excited for her. That excitement still hasn’t worn off and it probably won’t wear off until the wedding next year.

2. Wedding planning! (also, duh.)

image

I can’t think of very many girls that haven’t planned their wedding since they were like seven. Little girls are always talking about where they’ll get married, who they’ll marry, what the dress will look like, and so on. My sister is certainly one of those people, even though her style has changed over the years from bling-bling to country chic.

Even when it’s not your wedding (like me, this isn’t mine) it’s still really exciting to be a part of this process. It’s absolutely breathtaking to see your sister try on a dress for the first time. It becomes realistic when she’s set a date. And sometimes its patience-testing when she consults you about every single detail (Sorry, Miranda. I do enjoy it.)

No matter what, I have faith in everything that she is doing and I can’t wait until the actual wedding.

3. The addition of a brother-in-law!

1549515_965410426803398_4609480137053387132_n

Even though Michael has been in our lives for a very long long long long long *ad infinitum* time and it will probably feel no different, I am still very excited for both my sister to gain a husband, my parents to gain a son-in-law, and myself to gain a brother-in-law. If family is as important to you as it is to me, an expansion is a pretty big deal.

Thanks for taking your time to hear me out.

Untitled-2

Questions? Comments? Concerns? All welcome!

