SURPRISE POST: Why the “woman proposing” movement bothers me slightly.

Disclaimer: this post is not judgement, just my opinion from a strong woman’s perspective, and an advocate for all types of mushy romantic events and situations in life. Love is love and in the end it doesn’t matter who does what as long as you’re in love!

Untitled-3
The picture or article circulating the Internet of a woman proposing to her man has definitely raised some eyebrows and makes me question how I truly feel about something like this. To be completely honest, I’m not against it, and I’m not for it. I feel indifferent about it. I know I’m all about strong and independent women which is why I’m all for getting down on one knee if you choose to, but I’m against it for a few different reasons.

This is honestly giving men what they want. Let’s be real here. Some men fear commitment (not saying all men do because obviously I’ve been blessed with one who is devoted to me, and hats off to the men sticking by their special someone) but even if you’re in a relationship for years on end, you might have a man who just doesn’t want marriage. And then there’s this gray area where you might know that, or you might not, and you’re one bad ass independent woman who knows that she wants to be with this man for the rest of forever, get down on one knee, right where he wants you to be, and tells you “no.” And then guess what, that power struggle so many people talk about is awarded to the man, and at least if he asks you, you have the power to say yes or say no.

Honestly, I’m not being a negative Nancy or a feminist here, but I’m just being honest because sometimes to be a strong woman you really have to “think like a man” or just be a boss lady because we all know women are just as strong, if not, stronger than men. So if you want to take the initiative and propose, think about everything. Of course, if you know he will say yes and he’s just too scared to ask, then heck yeah! Do your thing girl!

Another thing is, the feeling of anticipation that comes around the time you think he will propose. I want every girl to have that feeling, and I’m sure you would still get that feeling if you get down and ask him, but that feeling might also be anxiety because this could go great, or it could go sour. The day Michael asked me to go to the jewelry store, I had that moment you’re supposed to get when they officially ask, I was scared, and happy at the same time, I cried, and he didn’t even ask me at the store! And for the next week I had those butterflies that you get in the beginning when he leans in and kisses you for the first time. And then when he pulled that ring out at the top of the Ferris wheel, I got that feeling again! It’s a feeling everyone dreams about, and I don’t want anyone to miss out on that feeling. Like I said, I’m not sure if you would get the same feeling if you proposed to him, and if you do, great, but if you don’t, it’s something I wouldn’t want you to miss out on, or like that feeling he’s supposed to get when you walk down the isle for the first time on your wedding day. You know what I’m saying?

Anyway, so I’m for the girl proposing because if you want something bad enough, you should go for it! Love is love and in the end it doesn’t matter who does what as long as you’re in love! I’m all for the non traditional, and I think it’s pretty bad ass, because hello, I asked Michael out when we first started dating, even though he would tell you otherwise!

Trust me, we are one odd and non traditional couple, but together we are one power couple that gets shit done.. And like I’ve said it a million times, base your “relationship goals” off real relationships. If that relationship is what you would like, then go for it! Love is love and in the end it doesn’t matter who does what as long as you’re in love!

Leave me feedback or how you feel, all opinions are welcome! Hateful comments to me will be deleted and reported because this is MY opinion, and this is also MY blog. Like I said this is not a judgement post, and as I’ve said I’m both for and against the role swap. Every relationship is beautiful and unique and I appreciate all relationships.

Xo,

Miranda

Questions? Comments? Concerns? All welcome!

