Friends Wanted; New, Old and All the Ones Lost

This week I want to write about a different type of relationship, friendship. Friendship is something that is very important to me because I’m the type of friend who will drop anything and everything to do something for you. Not only am I loyal, but no matter how long we haven’t talked or how many disagreements we get in, I am still there for those friends who have been and were good friends to me. Why am I writing this post? As my wedding is quickly approaching, and I am becoming more and more of an adult, I feel like it’s time to put this on the table, because I want the mature and loyal friendships I deserve.

So, if you are a loyal friend, thank you. If we were close at one point and just drifted apart, I want to reach out to you. If we burned our bridge as friends, I want to remain on good terms as acquaintances. If you are a toxic friend to me, you will probably be pushed aside as an acquaintance, but that’s okay. And if we aren’t friends or had a problem at any point, I would like to mend those gaps and develop a friendship.

I’ve been giving this a lot of thought because I have so many great friends to thank. I have burned my fair share of bridges because those friends weren’t good for my life. And I have lost touch with a lot of my old friends that I think about all the time, so I want them back in my life. And as I scroll through my Facebook or talk to people I didn’t in high school, I see so many great friendships that could be. I feel that as I am becoming more of an adult, it’s time to surround myself with great relationships of all sorts even with the ones who have hurt me. It’s important to be a good friend and great person to everyone no matter what because you never know how much they need you or when you will need them.

Thank you, to my best friendsTaylor, although you are 3,000 miles away we still talk like we’re right imagenext to each other, I don’t know what I would do without a true best friend like you, thank you for sticking by me for almost 10 years. Brandi, we have been best friends for life, and no matter how long we go without talking, we can still talk and laugh like we never missed a beat. Tara, I don’t know what I would do without you, and having so many double dates in high school, and thank you for helping me through all of this wedding planning, even if we don’t talk all the time, I’m luck to have you. Nikki, honestly, you’re my rock, and I can ask you for any advice and you will always be honest and truthful, thank you for being the joy in my life. Nicole, you’re my real sister, and my best friend, even if we’re 2,000 miles apart you’re my built in best friend and I don’t know what I would do without you.

Thank you to my sorority sisters, my big, my little, my entire family line for being my support system. Thank you Olga for also being my friend and talking to me all hours of the night. Thank you to some of my coworkers for being there for me and the countless laughs on the daily. I don’t know what I would do without each and every one of you.

To my friends from high school, I want to bridge the gap that has formed between us. The bonds and memories we shared was unbelievable and I look back now and have you all to thank for who I am today. You were and still are a big part of my life, and I want you all to be a part of it. I’ll start reaching out little by little because I don’t want things to get overwhelming and weird because it’s been so long. But some of you are at the same points in your life as me, and I want to continue what we had.

To those of you who weren’t so close to me in high school, but we talk now, I want to form bigger relationships with you. I get to share the joys you all post on Facebook, and I want to be there for you as a friend. I feel that even if we didn’t talk in high school, or we had some type of issue, that there are valuable friendships to be made and I can learn so much from all of you. I want those rich friendships that I know could happen. So, let’s do this!

To the ones I have cut off, I am sorry, truly from my heart, but there was something bad about our friendships that had to end. It was probably one sided, either I was doing all the work or you were doing it all, or I felt like I was being held back. I don’t need immature friendships. I want the good times and the bad to be on the same level, it wasn’t fair to me to feel this way so it had to be done. Or we might have had a fight and our friendship just dissolved. That’s okay, we don’t have to be friends, but I do want to have a civil, respectful relationship. If you feel the need to have me blocked on Facebook or Instagram I think that’s childish. We don’t have to be friends or anything like that, but blocking someone just because you had a fight isn’t the right answer. But I do want to have some kind of mature relationship with those of you who I have lost. It’s just the kind of person I am, because if you need me, I’m still here for you.

To all of my friends, best friends, new friends, old friends, potential friends and dissolved friends, know that I am here for you, and I want the best possible relationship with you. I am a people person and I have my love and kindness to show for it. So I want to make these changes and grow even more as a person. This would make my life so much happier, so let’s do this thing!

How do you feel about me wanting to reach out to everyone? Would you like to reach out to me? Could we be friends? Leave me feedback about this post please!

See you next Tuesday!
Xo,

Miranda

Questions? Comments? Concerns? All welcome!

