A love letter to the love of my life.

A public letter to the man I love:
Dear Michael,

Yesterday made six and a half years for us, but to me, everyday feels like the first time I met you in that classroom in Memorial High School. It’s crazy to me to think about how far we’ve come. From break ups, to drama, to laughter at 3 am, it’s been one wild ride for us, but somehow we keep coming out holding hands. I know I don’t tell you this a lot but I am beyond thankful for everything you do for me. Thank you for being there for me when so many “friends” weren’t. Thank you for picking me up when I’ve had too many, and taking care of me. Thank you for working so hard, and so many hours to give us the life we deserve. Thank you for being the man I have always hoped and wanted, and everything my dad is, your passion and selflessness is so much like his, which I am thankful for. Thank you for treating me with respect and giving me the world. And most importantly, thank you for making me laugh every single day, and being my best friend through it all.

What most people don’t know is how opposite we are but at the same time how similar we are. Together we can be ourselves, even if I’m super annoying, or you’re super obnoxious, I love that we can make fun of each other and laugh about it every day. imageI love that you are so full of common sense and that I am so book smart. I love that you love classic rock, but appreciate country music, and I love country music but appreciate classic rock. I love that you’re musically talented, every time you break out that guitar, my heart skips a beat. I wish I could be as talented as you. I also love that we can watch Smokey and The Bandit or Dukes of Hazzard, and we can be old souls together. I love that we have this weird eclectic taste, it’s like country, rustic, hippie rolled into one sweet package. I love that we can hunt and fish together because it’s something we like to do together. And I love going on adventures with you. My life is so full of adventure thanks to you.

Most importantly, thank you for asking me to be your wife. Being your girlfriend has been an amazing title, but I can’t wait to share your last name, even if you say it brings bad luck. I would rather have bad luck with you than good luck with someone so boring. I can’t wait to walk down that isle and see your face at the end. It will be like walking and throwing everything bad we’ve ever been through behind us, and a new chapter in our book. It will be so beautiful and everything we’ve ever wanted. And then of course I can’t wait to have a house full of kids.

Our happiness and love inspires many to have a love like ours, because it’s something unique that most people don’t get to see. We are so different but so similar and I think that’s what makes us the most different. I am so lucky to be yours and I can’t wait to see what our next 6 and a half years hold for us, I am sure it will be full of adventure and laughter just like the last 6 and a halfyears. Everything I am and everything I have I owe to you, thank you for loving me unconditionally, and thank you for being mine.

I love you,

Miranda

What do you think of my love letter to Michael? If you had the chance, what would you write to your significant other?

See y’all next Tuesday.

Photo by Olga Hinchman

Questions? Comments? Concerns? All welcome!

