Being an Independent and Strong Woman in a Relationship

This week I am inspired to write about strong women, myself being one of them. Not only do I want young girls to take after my hard work ethic, and willpower, along with my strength and ability to empower other women, but I want other women to be strong in relationships. So, what is like to be a strong and independent woman in a long term relationship?

I will be completely honest, the power struggle between the two of us is often difficult because I always feel the need to be in control, and being super independent gets in the way. I want to be in charge of every single aspect of our lives, from daily life all the way to our future life. Michael, let’s me get away with it most of the time, but I know he doesn’t like it when I plan every second of every day. The best advice I can give is to slow down. I know it’s hard to do, but sometimes, let him plan things, or do nothing at all or go with the flow.

imageWhat I also want girls to know is, no matter how long you have been together, be true to yourself. Be independent. You should NEVER have to depend on a man, that makes you weak in my opinion. Have your own money, pay your own bills, live your own life while sharing it with him. Take turns paying for dinner, buy him things too, do not always depend on him doing everything. Be strong, stand your ground when it comes to things you want! Nothing makes me more upset when girls let guys control them. I see nothing wrong with keeping your man happy, but also keep yourself happy! And most importantly, if you are not happy and always living a one sided relationship, LEAVE. As women we should stick together, be there for your girlfriends, if you see one of your friends not being as strong as you know they are, be their support. Women are often tearing each other down, and news flash, men are there to pick up the pieces, which is nice but, this is a sign to them that we need them even when it comes to other women. We should work together, women to women, women to men, and men to men, but we should also be our own person, strong and independent. This is how we make healthy and mature relationships work and last, remember that.

“The woman who does not require validation from anyone is the most feared individual on the planet.” –Mohadesa Najumi

Leave me feedback below & share this with your strong and independent friends!

Photo By Portraits by Olga Hinchman 

See you next Tuesday!

Miranda

5 thoughts on “Being an Independent and Strong Woman in a Relationship

  1. I do like your post and mostly agree. I am almost always and control and as you said I can tell Kevin lets me. But I think some things are different when you bring a child into the situation. Obviously Bryce was unplanned but I’m so blessed to have him. I don’t work so I can watch him because let’s face it day care is outrageous and if it’s free child care it’s most likely NOT great child care. So I have to depend on Kevin financially but I do not feel like that makes me weak or any less independent. I think because Kevin and I do have such a great relationship and even though we aren’t married we sure as hell live like it. We have a joint bank account and I still buy him things, even though it’s technically “his” money. We’ve just definitely moved past that “his” money and “her” money rather it’s OUR money because we are a family and have a child. But I do get what you are saying, I just thought I’d share my point of view as I personally feel those things become different when you have a child.

    :)

    Like

    1. Steph I totally understand when it comes to a child lol! Mike and I have a joint account but just for shared bills and I still control it lol! I don’t know what it’s like to have a child and obviously when you’re a parent then funds have to be shared! But I mean like not depending on a man for everything! As a stay at home mom you have to but I mean like the needy kind of girls who need their boyfriends to do everything like wipe their butt lol

      Liked by 1 person

Questions? Comments? Concerns? All welcome!

